Don’t forget, there are ladies here!

 
“Currently, women serve in 91 percent of all Army occupations and make up about 14 percent of the Active Army. Women continue to have a crucial role in the War on Terrorism and their sacrifices in this noble effort underscore their dedication and willingness to share great sacrifices.”          (http://www.army.mil/women/)
 

Letters from our Female Friends:

Renee,

What y’all do is absolutely amazing. There are only three females in our unit so we love it when we get a box as opposed to the boxes we usually get that are more for males (I think sometimes people forget that there are females in the Army, ha).

Again, we are super thankful for the package you all sent and we think y’all were right on the mark with the brands! It is so greatly appreciated because hair care products (all ranges) are difficult to find here, they usually just have really cheap off brand ones that don’t really work, so it is really amazing when we get really good products. Hope you are having an amazing day and we all hope to stay in touch with you.

Thank  you for everything and with support like yours we can’t help but do what we do!
-SPC Burks, 8/17/11

 

Greetings,

I am SSG McNeil, SPC Hunnicutt eagerly passed along your information to me and had said that you have been very supportive of the troops.

Thank you for your support!!!

I am part of the Provincial Reconstruction Team that came in July 1st, my job is Civil Affairs (out of Green Bay, WI) and I work with the women’s issues in country.

We are a unique group, we have 3 Navy, 2 Army and 1 Airforce Female in our Team.

Best Regards,
SSG McNeil, 7/21/11

 

Hello Jenn Fair,

I am a BU3 in the United States Navy Seabees. I am out in Afghan right now doing construction for all of the Army and Marines special ops, that need living space on these camps.  I just received a care package along with BUCN Lutry (we are the ONLY two females on this entire camp) and we were actually running out of cleaning products. I just wanted to tell you thank you and what you do means more to us than you know!   We appreciate all your help! Thank you so much again, for the time, effort, and money, you put into us. It really is nice to know people haven’t forgotten that females are out here working right along side all the men that enlist!!

Very Respectfully,
A. Mann BU3(SCW), 7/1/11

 

Hey Jen,

My 1SG saw me opening the boxes that you sent to us. He was jealous because our boxes look cooler than the ones that he gets. I tell you all of the girls know you by name and love everything that you send. When I tell them that I got a box from you they get excited. Especially my roomate Melissa and my best friend Shannett. It’s only because they get first dibs,lol. With most of us being mixed or African American your boxes are the best. There is stuff in there that we can actually use. A couple of the girls wanted to know if you could send them a few things.  We need: summers eve spray, body wash, hair gel, shampoo and conditioner for ethnic hair, body powder and feminine wipes.  It’s kind of hard to get that stuff over here. Some of our families aren’t that supportive. What would us girls do without our Jen??

Your Friend
R. Hunnicutt, 1/10/11

 

Dear Jenn,

I shared the package with my fellow battle buddy, the only other female in my platoon. It’s so good to get some feminine/girly items out here b/c I think our guys like to forget we’re females and have different needs than they do at times. lol

-D. Ramirez, 10/17/10

Hello Jennifer,

I am so sorry that it has taken me so long to write back to you. I recieved your box. It was awesome. I shared a lot of the contents with the other females in my unit. I can’t tell you how excited we all were. You really sent us a lot of the stuff that we needed and wanted. It was like christmas. Many of us still like to maintain our femininity while we are deployed. It’s kind of hard to do that. The small store ( which we call a px) usually doesn’t have items for females. I guess they think only guys deploy =).  So nice things like normal body wash ( not old spice) is a hot commodity around here for us. Needless to say from what you sent we were all smiles. You are truly an awesome person for sending that box. I cannot tell you how greatful I am for your generosity. I have carried your letter around everyday so that the first chance that I got to tell you thank you I would have all of your information. Also the other ladies in my unit wanted me to tell you thank you. Your package was our favorite =). As far as things that we would want you pretty much had the right idea. We usually need black, brown, and the light tan hair bows, hair spray, and just normal things that any female would want.
 
I think it’s cool that you have given your life over to GOD. He is amazing. I hope that your walk with him is everything you need and want it to be. 
 
I hope that you can get this e-mail and that we can continue to talk.
Thank you again
R. Hunnicutt, 11/7/10

 

Jen,
How are you? Well I woke up this morning and it snowed. I wanted to climb back in bed. The good thing is it made me realize something about the majority of the soldiers in my unit. We are all kids who are getting to live out our dreams of being soldiers. Just like if you wanted to be a fireman. The major snowball fights I saw, while I was dodging snowballs walking to work this morning, let me know some of us just never stop loving the small things in life. Which was pretty cool.I would have taken pictures but it was kind of a war zone,lol.
 
I told the girls about the V day package. We are all eagerly awaiting to see what the “famous” Jen is going to send. My roomate gets packages every now and then from a lady named Jen. she made the comment ” Hey I wonder if we have the same Jen?” So , I went and looked in her box…my reply was ” You wish you had my Jen.” Although we appreciate anything anyone sends. Your boxes are truly the ones we wait for =)

Talk to you soon
R. Hunnicutt, 1/12/11

 

 

Hi Jenn….
 
Thank you so much for everything you have done for my unit and I. We really appreciate it. Its so nice to have all the simple things when you are so far away from home. All the things you have sent have already been given out. They will all be put to use! Sorry it has taken me awhile to respond to you…long days and short nights! Our unit works 6 days on and 1 day off, 12-13 hours a day.
 
Things here aren’t going to bad right now! Ive started counting my days down! Im at approx 64! I dont know the exact date I leave here, but I do have a pretty good guesstamation! I’ll be so happy to be home taking a LONG HOT shower and cooking my own food. And most of all, wearing whatever I choose! Just to give you an idea of things here…we are only allowed 3 minute showers because water has to be trucked in everyday. Your not always guaranteed it will be hot either, which really sucks now because winter is on the way. We are lucky enough that we live in a hardened building, so we dont actually have to leave to shower or anything like that. I live in a room with 5 other girls. Thank goodness we all get along! The girls I live with are great. We all come from a different base, so its nice to meet people you dont see everyday back home. We are only allowed to wear our ABU’s (camo) and out PT clothes. So if you could imagine how old it gets looking at the same thing everytime you open your closet! We are allowed to wear our own clothes in the hallway and our rooms, but once you go outside…same uniform!

Again…thank you so much for everything! 
 ~B.Wharton & The Unit, 10/29/10

 
 
These are our troops, and we are honored to serve them. Your support has helped us send over 250 care packages this last year to troops in remote locations of Iraq, Afghanistan, Kuwait, Bahrain, Kyrgyzstan, & Indonesia. We have our most important shipment to come: Sending them the gift of home… in time for Christmas.
 

Join us!

September 30th, 2011  •  11 am to 4pm
KCCA Clubhouse • 15245 SW 116th Avenue • King City, Oregon

As we prepare 300 care packages to be shipped out to our Soldiers, Marines, Airmen, and Sailors during the month of October. Bring a beanie baby, a letter written to a friend (they’ll soon become one!), a picture to share, and most importantly – your encouragement & support!  They deserve this, and we are proud to be a part of their lives.

Questions?
Call Jennifer at 503-841-3418 or email jennfair007@gmail.com

 

 

Thank you! 

 

 For more information about the women who serve, check out http://www.army.mil/women/

About Jennifer Fair

Sending our troops the gift of home. View all posts by Jennifer Fair

Leave a comment