Sponsor a Care Package for a Soldier Overseas

Last night, the Christmas presents went under the tree, a youtube video sent by my Aunt Rosie was watched through tears, and another eight boxes were packed up for our soldiers overseas.

Total boxes, ready to go? 20

And considering that I am able to do this while working part-time, minimum wage, leaves me and my family amazed and blessed.  The last three months I have spent so much time buying, packing, and shipping care packages to our soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan, I can’t really consider it a “hobby” anymore…

It is not unusual for a lot of my “personal space” to be buried under USPS Priority mail boxes for months at a time.  So, it now goes beyond “hobby”.

This is my job.

And a fun one at that.  Sure, I work as a cashier to earn fantastic discounts at my favorite place to shop for the troops… They basically pay me to do what I really love – give to those who need it.

And there is no doubt. There is a need. All you have to do is read two or three posts on AnySoldier.com to see that. Men and women are over there risking their lives, and they lack the basic essentials we take for granted: toothpaste, shampoo, warm blankets, and the Sunday comics.  (Okay, so maybe the comics aren’t essential, but they certainly appreciate them!)

So after arranging the Christmas tree this evening, my mind goes back to “my troops” – the 35 contacts I’ve made over the last three months…

I pray.
I write to my contacts via email.
I verify which addresses are still current from AnySoldier.com,
and I pack up another eight boxes and address them to my troops.

If you wish to help with the costs of postage, email jennfair007@gmail.com

This box will go out to 1SG Kenneth C. –
a contact with 105 soldiers in Afghanistan.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~

If you wish to help with the costs of shipping,
please email Jennifer at jennfair007@gmail.com

Merry Christmas!

About Jennifer Fair

Sending our troops the gift of home. View all posts by Jennifer Fair

Leave a comment